Most people who remember, will know that I tried to stay totally independent on my travels from club to club. But now that I've retired, I can say without hesitation that my favourite event each year was the Tregrehan 'clubbie' in July - the sun invariably shone, the entry was small so everyone had value for money, and, without the pressures of championship competition, everyone had a great day; drivers and spectators alike. Just read on and you will see what I mean.
 Tregrehan Hillclimb
July 12th 1992
The Young Pretender

Although poorly supported with just 53 starters, the Truro & District MC's july 'clubbie' produced one of the best events in the region for many a year, with a bonus of two practise and four timed runs for the drivers. A totally laid-back atmosphere disguised the many close class battles and a cliff-hanging BTD contest.

The winner of the major pot was expected to come from the three single seater drivers and when just 0.05secs separated their first runs, it was obvious we were to witness a war. First time up, Keith Richards' Ehrlich BDA (19.65s) led from the Royale of Simon Ashley (19.67s and favourite Gary (Jesse) James (19.70s) in his FF2000 Sark.  Richards maintained his lead on climb two when both he and Ashley improved - now with 0.03s between them.  A slight shower slowed the third attempt, but at the fourth time of asking, young Ashley left it at 19.31s, which Richards failed to match by just 0.02s

The 1400cc road saloons had 3 different leaders during the afternoon with Gary Schofield's Mini heading the first runs, Steve Glasson's Nova taking over in the second round and Marcus Avery settling the matter in his Mini Clubman with a final climb 0.2s ahead of Glasson.  Graham Heathman had the measure of the three car unlimited road car section with his Mk2 RS and Nick Crocker enjoyed an easy victory in the 1400cc road sports class in the Westfield, missing the record by a hundredth.  The 1800cc split was always Richard Earle's with the Seven, but Jo Bigger had the Elan absolutely singing as she stormed up the hill to within 0.29s of the Earle of Portwrinkle's best.

Wayne Grimshaw fought tooth and nail with Tony Bonfield for 1400cc modified saloon honours. First Bonfield led, then Grimshaw, until the final run when Bonfield climbed the Mini in a time out of reach of the Imp. Roy Bray took the unlimited mod saloon prize with four consistent drives in the 20s bracket; a regenerated Steve Hillson taking second in his 1600 Escort.

Tony Brown had travelled down from the Midlands and was leading all the way in a combined sports car class - until Jonathan Williamson took his final run in the Porsche to head Brown's Sylva Leader and the Westfield of Ian Chard with just 0.10s between the three!

It was no surprise when the then Hillclimb Leaders Champion, Mike Lee, enjoying a day away from national competition, took the 1300cc Sports Libre win and lowered the the class record in the process.  Ian Tucker came within 0.08s of his own 1700cc Sports Libre mark with the Twincam Mallock and John Spenceley took his amazing JAP-engined Spenceley Special up the hill in the low 22's to take the 1000cc racing car award.
BTD     Simon Ashley 1.6 Royale RP31M Ford
Class Winnners
Marcus Avery  1.4 Mini Clubman
Graham Heathman 2.0 Ford Escort RS Mk2 
Nick Crocker  1.3 Westfield 7
Richard Earle 1.7 Lotus 7
Tony Bonfield 1.3 Mini
LeRoy Bray  2.0 Ford Escort RS Mk1 
Jonathan Williamson 3.2 Porsche 911 Carrera
Mike Lee  1.3 Mallock U2 Mk16 BDH
Ian Tucker 1.7 Mallock U2 Mk18B TC
John Spencley 0.5 Spenceley Special JAP

<< Back to 50 years of Tregrehan